Jonesy's Home Inspection https://jonesyshomeinspection.com Serving Idaho's Bonner and Boundary Counties Tue, 05 Feb 2019 17:03:06 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.1.1 https://i2.wp.com/jonesyshomeinspection.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/favicon.png?fit=32%2C32&ssl=1 Jonesy's Home Inspection https://jonesyshomeinspection.com 32 32 134541219 Home Inspection Sandpoint Idaho https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/home-inspection-sandpoint-idaho/ https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/home-inspection-sandpoint-idaho/#respond Fri, 20 Jul 2018 08:25:19 +0000 https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/?p=447 I had the privilege today to inspect another beautiful home in Sandpoint Idaho. I was reminded of the freedom we have here in Bonner County, when the Home Owner mentioned at the end of inspection, that he had done most of the work himself. As a carpenter for over 23 years I was impressed with […]

The post Home Inspection Sandpoint Idaho appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
I had the privilege today to inspect another beautiful home in Sandpoint Idaho.

I was reminded of the freedom we have here in Bonner County, when the Home Owner mentioned at the end of inspection, that he had done most of the work himself. As a carpenter for over 23 years I was impressed with the quality of work on this house. In fact for the most part all i found was minor maintenance issues. The few other things found were code changes since the home was built such as Gfci outlets in the kitchen. If you are reading this blog and getting ready to sell an older home, I suggest you might should consider getting a pre-listing inspection done, in order to give you time to fix any repairs or updates done. The codes are changed periodically and while it may have been fine when the home was built, the potential buyers will probably want it brought up to date.

This home featured a beautiful rock entry way complemented with a stunning solid wood doors. Inside was a big kitchen with open dining area. The living room was stunning with the focus being the huge insert fireplace with rock all around it. The trex deck was a great place for entertaining guests or just sitting outside in the morning enjoying a cup of coffee. Out back was a big barn with upstairs designed for hay storage and downstairs had a tack room, feed room and stalls for horses.

As an almost lifetime resident of North Idaho, living in and around Sandpoint, I enjoy the privilege of inspecting homes and seeing the different ideas that people have come up with when building their home. If your thinking of buying or selling a home in North Idaho, I would love to help you with your Home Inspection.

 

The post Home Inspection Sandpoint Idaho appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/home-inspection-sandpoint-idaho/feed/ 0 447
Home Inspection in Sagle, Idaho https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/home-inspection-in-sagle-idaho/ https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/home-inspection-in-sagle-idaho/#respond Thu, 12 Apr 2018 06:03:15 +0000 https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/?p=437 As a North Idaho Home Inspector, I have inspected many houses in Sagle Idaho. Although Sagle is an unincorporated community it has been growing big time in the last few years. Sagle is located south of Sandpoint and has recently seen an expansion of businesses because of the large amount of highway 95 frontage property. […]

The post Home Inspection in Sagle, Idaho appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
As a North Idaho Home Inspector, I have inspected many houses in Sagle Idaho. Although Sagle is an unincorporated community it has been growing big time in the last few years. Sagle is located south of Sandpoint and has recently seen an expansion of businesses because of the large amount of highway 95 frontage property. There are many beautiful homes to choose from in Sagle. Ranging from water front on Lake Pend Oreille to mountain and meadow views along Dufort Rd. Down South Sagle Rd there are several bays that have breath taking views of the lake, many homes have been built there so you can wake up in the morning and take in the beauty of North Idaho. If you want to be a little closer to Sandpoint then down Lakeshore drive would be a good place to look. All along the Pend Oreille River are stunning views with Schweitzer and Baldy Mountains in the background. If you are looking for a small community with great places to live then the Sagle area is a great place. If you’re needing a Home Inspection, I hope you will choose Jonesy’s Home Inspection.

The post Home Inspection in Sagle, Idaho appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/home-inspection-in-sagle-idaho/feed/ 0 437
Inspecting Tile Grout as a Home Inspector in Bonner County https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/inspecting-tile-grout-as-a-home-inspector-in-bonner-county/ https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/inspecting-tile-grout-as-a-home-inspector-in-bonner-county/#respond Mon, 09 Apr 2018 09:02:37 +0000 https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/?p=434 As a Home Inspector in Bonner County Idaho, I run across grout that’s dirty or has microbial growth. Many times I see cleaners in the home that won’t kill mold and harms the grout in the process. Most grout cleaners contain bleach and there are even several do it yourself cleaner recipes on the internet […]

The post Inspecting Tile Grout as a Home Inspector in Bonner County appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
As a Home Inspector in Bonner County Idaho, I run across grout that’s dirty or has microbial growth. Many times I see cleaners in the home that won’t kill mold and harms the grout in the process. Most grout cleaners contain bleach and there are even several do it yourself cleaner recipes on the internet that contains bleach. This is because dirty grout is one of the hardest things to clean in your home and the two areas that tile is commonly installed is the shower and in the kitchen. In the shower you have moisture and soap scum that over time causes microbial growth, and in the kitchen you have food particles that can make cleaning very difficult. Because nobody wants to spend hours cleaning in these two areas, bleach for years has been the go to cleaner.

A few reasons I recommend not using bleach are as follows. First off bleach damages materials. In the case of the shower or in the kitchen it can damage the grout by slowly etching and opening the pores in the grout allowing microbial growth to expand and even harder to clean. While it may appear that the grout and tile are clean, in fact bleach or products containing bleach do not kill any microbial growth it merely bleaches it. Bleach also breaks down any protective coating that is on your tile and fixtures that the bleach cleaner comes in contact with. So you are not only not killing the growth but you are actually causing more damage. This damage may over time cost you a lot of money.

Another reason, is bleach is very caustic. It can cause rashes and even burns that scar for life. I personally have a scar on my wrist, that 24 years ago when cleaning with an industrial bleach cleaner it got into my glove past the tape and rubbed and burned part of my wrist. 

So it is clear why I don’t recommend bleach or cleaners containing bleach but what do I recommend? Well for starters if you do know what brand of grout was installed many times they have a cleaner that works well for their grout. If you don’t, something I have seen that works really well is products from Norwex. All you really need with their towels is water. So you are not causing damage to the grout or even the fixtures.

Here is a link to purchase their product if you are interested. Caroljones.norwex.biz

 

The post Inspecting Tile Grout as a Home Inspector in Bonner County appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/inspecting-tile-grout-as-a-home-inspector-in-bonner-county/feed/ 0 434
Home Inspections in Sandpoint Idaho https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/home-inspections-in-sandpoint-idaho/ https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/home-inspections-in-sandpoint-idaho/#respond Sat, 07 Apr 2018 08:56:13 +0000 https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/?p=429 I love doing Home Inspections in Sandpoint Idaho. Currently Idaho is one of the fastest growing states, and Sandpoint has been in several articles as one of the top vacation towns in America. Living in Bonner county most of my life, I know first hand why it is that people love to move or vacation […]

The post Home Inspections in Sandpoint Idaho appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
I love doing Home Inspections in Sandpoint Idaho. Currently Idaho is one of the fastest growing states, and Sandpoint has been in several articles as one of the top vacation towns in America. Living in Bonner county most of my life, I know first hand why it is that people love to move or vacation here. It is important to me that if you are investing in a home that you get all the information you need to make the best decision. I have been in all aspects of construction for over 24 years in North Idaho, so I know what to look for as far as good building practices. There are many beautiful homes in Sandpoint and the surrounding area and I love the fact that as a Home Inspector I get to see them. I also love that I am able to use my past experience to insure that you get the best information possible. 

Some of the great things you can do or see in Sandpoint depends on the season. In the winter you are just moments from Schweitzer Ski Resort where they just had a record of 34′ of snow for the year. In the summer you have Lake Pend Oreille for boating or fishing. There are also many trails in the area if hiking is something you enjoy.

If you are buying or selling a house in North Idaho, I trust that you will schedule an appointment with Jonesy’s Home Inspection. 

The post Home Inspections in Sandpoint Idaho appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/home-inspections-in-sandpoint-idaho/feed/ 0 429
Smoke Alarm Recall Alert https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/smoke-alarm-recall-alert/ https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/smoke-alarm-recall-alert/#respond Sun, 01 Apr 2018 22:55:45 +0000 https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/?p=426 If you bought a Kiddie Duel sensor smoke alarm in the last couple of years you need to check to see if it one that they just recalled. Models PI2010 and PI9010 are being recalled due to a yellow cap left on during production. This covers one of the sensors and compromises the smoke alarms […]

The post Smoke Alarm Recall Alert appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
If you bought a Kiddie Duel sensor smoke alarm in the last couple of years you need to check to see if it one that they just recalled. Models PI2010 and PI9010 are being recalled due to a yellow cap left on during production. This covers one of the sensors and compromises the smoke alarms ability to detect smoke. The model number and date code are printed on the back of the alarm. 

Model Date Code
PI9010 (DC/battery powered) 2016 Sep. 10 through 2017 Oct. 13
PI2010 (AC/hardwired) 2016 Sep. 10 through 2017 Oct. 13

Consumers should remove the alarm from the wall/ceiling and visually inspect it through the opening on the side of the alarm for the presence of a yellow cap. Consumers should not attempt to take apart the alarm, open the casing, or otherwise remove the yellow cap themselves. If a yellow cap is present, the consumer should immediately contact Kidde to receive instructions and request a free replacement smoke alarm. They should remove and discard the recalled smoke alarm only after they receive and install the replacement alarm. If no yellow cap is present, consumers should reinstall the smoke alarm and no further action is needed.

 

Consumer Contact:

Kidde toll-free at 833-551-7739 from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. ET Monday through Friday, from 9 a.m.to 3 p.m. on Saturday and Sunday, or online at www.kidde.com and click on “Product Safety Recall” for more information.

The post Smoke Alarm Recall Alert appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/smoke-alarm-recall-alert/feed/ 0 426
Anti-Tip Kitchen Stove Bracket https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/anti-tip-kitchen-stove-bracket/ https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/anti-tip-kitchen-stove-bracket/#respond Sun, 01 Apr 2018 05:33:52 +0000 https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/?p=421 What is a Kitchen stove anti-tip bracket? It is a bracket that slips over the leg of the Kitchen stove as it is slid into position. This keeps the stove from tipping if weight, such as a young child, is on the door when in the open position. Anti-tip brackets are safety devices that started showing […]

The post Anti-Tip Kitchen Stove Bracket appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
What is a Kitchen stove anti-tip bracket? It is a bracket that slips over the leg of the Kitchen stove as it is slid into position. This keeps the stove from tipping if weight, such as a young child, is on the door when in the open position. Anti-tip brackets are safety devices that started showing up in the late 1980s and became required by appliance manufacturers in 1991. As a home inspector on thing i check to see if one has been installed and if so was it installed properly. Most often i find that it was never installed. I have found them a few times still in the bag with the owner’s manual or installed into just the drywall and not into the stud or wall bottom plate. 

This bracket is cheap insurance to keep the stove from injuring a young child or even death. 

The post Anti-Tip Kitchen Stove Bracket appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/anti-tip-kitchen-stove-bracket/feed/ 0 421
Living in North Idaho https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/living-in-north-idaho/ https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/living-in-north-idaho/#comments Sat, 17 Mar 2018 13:58:24 +0000 https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/?p=406 As a resident of Idaho since 1984, I’ve been able to enjoy many places in the area. I will be featuring different areas over the next couple of posts. This time I will focus on Priest Lake. Priest lake has many trails to hike. One we hiked to a couple of times last year, was […]

The post Living in North Idaho appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
As a resident of Idaho since 1984, I’ve been able to enjoy many places in the area. I will be featuring different areas over the next couple of posts. This time I will focus on Priest Lake. Priest lake has many trails to hike. One we hiked to a couple of times last year, was the Wigwams. The first time in many places there was over 4′ of snow in June. The second time was in August and both times was amazed with the stunning views. Several trails have water falls or big Cedar trees that are beautiful. 

Priest Lake has many places to camp, even a whole island with camp spots all around it. Many times we have boated to the island camping for a couple of days. Great place to water ski, knee boarding or tubing. If you love fishing, or hunting there is plenty of areas to do both and many times both in the same day. Fishing opportunities range from trophy size Mackinaw in Priest Lake, to cutthroat fishing in the nearby alpine lakes, to brook trout angling in the numerous streams in the Priest basin, to catch-and-release fishing for west slope cutthroat in Upper Priest Lake, to great ice fishing on Cavanaugh Bay.

Another way to explore the Priest Lake area is on snowmobiles. There are several trails that are groomed or if you prefer you can find fresh powder in the many bowls. Snowmobile trails totaling over 400 miles are mostly on either state or federal forest service roads ranging in elevation from 2,500 to over 7,000-feet.

After having fun all day long whether that is hiking, boating or snowmobiling. There are many places to eat in the Priest Lake area but my favorite place to eat is Moose Knuckles located in Coolin. They have the best BBQ in North Idaho. 

As a Home Inspector, I enjoy working for people who are buying a home in a place that has so many fun things to do. So make sure you get up to Priest Lake and enjoy some of God’s most beautiful creation.

The post Living in North Idaho appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/living-in-north-idaho/feed/ 1 406
Spring Maintenance Tips https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/spring-maintenance-tips/ https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/spring-maintenance-tips/#respond Wed, 14 Mar 2018 01:02:08 +0000 https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/?p=401 After a long winter here in North Idaho the weather is starting to warm up. Now is the time to start checking a few things on your Home so that when summer rolls around you can have time to play in the sun. If some of these things are out of your spectrum then give […]

The post Spring Maintenance Tips appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
After a long winter here in North Idaho the weather is starting to warm up. Now is the time to start checking a few things on your Home so that when summer rolls around you can have time to play in the sun. If some of these things are out of your spectrum then give us a call or go to our website schedule area, and schedule a home maintenance inspection. Here are a few tips on what you should be checking in the Spring.

  1. Roof – Examine roof shingles to see if any were lost or damaged during winter. If your home has an older roof covering, you may want to start a budget for replacement. The summer sun can really damage roof shingles. Shingles that are cracked, buckled or loose or are missing granules need to be replaced. Flashing around plumbing vents, skylights and chimneys need to be checked and repaired by a qualified roofer.
  2. Exterior Trim – Use a screwdriver to probe the wood trim around windows, doors, railings and decks. Checking for any soft spots suggesting possible rot. Make sure that the caulking and paint/stain is in good shape Make repairs now before the spring rains do more damage to the exposed wood.
  3. Gutters – Check for loose, leaky or full of debris gutters. Improper drainage can lead to water in the basement or crawl space. Make sure downspouts drain away from the foundation and are clear and free of debris.
  4. Yard – Low areas in the yard or next to the foundation should be filled with compacted soil. Spring rains can cause yard flooding, which can lead to foundation flooding and damage. Also, when water pools in these low areas in summer, it creates a breeding ground for insects.
  5. Chimney – Examine the exterior of the chimney for signs of damage. Have the flue cleaned and inspected by a certified chimney sweep.
  6. Concrete Slab/Walkway – Inspect concrete slabs for signs of cracks or movement. All exterior slabs except pool decks should drain away from the home’s foundation. Fill cracks with a concrete crack filler or silicone caulk. When weather permits, power-wash and then seal the concrete.
  7. Firewood – Remove firewood stored near the home. Firewood should be stored at least 18 inches off the ground at least 2 feet from the structure.
  8. Outside Faucets – Check outside hose faucets for freeze damage. Turn the water on and place your thumb or finger over the opening. If you can stop the flow of water, it is likely the pipe inside the home is damaged and will need to be replaced. While you’re at it, check the garden hose for dry rot.
  9. A/C Unit – Have a qualified heating and cooling contractor clean and service the outside unit of the air conditioning system. Clean coils operate more efficiently, and an annual service call will keep the system working at peak performance levels. Change interior filters on a regular basis.
  10. Power Equipment – Check your gas and battery-powered lawn equipment to make sure it is ready for summer use. Clean equipment and sharp cutting blades will make yard work easier.

The post Spring Maintenance Tips appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/spring-maintenance-tips/feed/ 0 401
Winter is Coming | Getting your Home Prepared https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/winter-coming-getting-home-prepared/ https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/winter-coming-getting-home-prepared/#comments Thu, 21 Sep 2017 07:31:04 +0000 https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/?p=356 Here in North Idaho we just went 80 days without rain but now we had a day of rain and snow in the mountains. Time to put the summer toys away and prepare for snow. We will often make sure the car is ready for the cold and the boat is winterized but neglect the […]

The post Winter is Coming | Getting your Home Prepared appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
Here in North Idaho we just went 80 days without rain but now we had a day of rain and snow in the mountains. Time to put the summer toys away and prepare for snow. We will often make sure the car is ready for the cold and the boat is winterized but neglect the house we live in. Sometimes we will prepare some of the common places in the home but others we forget to even check. So here is a checklist to make your home more cozy and save a little on your heating this year.

1. Furnace Filter

This a good time to check your filter. A dirty filter reduces the efficiency and will cost you more to heat your home. A good rule is to change it every 3-6 months. 

2. Furnace Maintenance 

Schedule a service for your furnace. This is something you need to hire a professional to service. Newer furnaces need serviced every two years and annually for older furnaces.

3. Inspect weatherstripping

Now is the time to check the weatherstripping around your doors. The best way is using a thermal camera which is a service we provide with our yearly maintenance inspection . But at the very least visually inspect them for damage. 

4. Check Attic Leaks

Check to make sure attic access is sealed properly. Check all places that electrical, plumbing and venting go through ceiling into attic. This is a good time to check the insulation in your attic. Up here in Idaho you should have a R value of around R49. This will help keep warm air inside in the winter and cool air inside in the summer.

5. Chimney Cleaned and Inspected 

It is important to hire a Chimney Sweep to annually clean and inspect your chimney. 

6. Set Fan Blades to Winter Setting 

Fan blades should turn clockwise in the winter. This will lift cool air to the ceiling and push the heat down. There will be toggle switch on the fan body to switch between clockwise and counter clockwise.

7. Check Exterior Water Faucets 

Check and make sure all Faucets outside are frost free and functioning properly. Make sure all hoses are drained and stored in a safe place. 

8. Prevent Ice Dams 

If your home had a lot of icicles and ice dams last winter you need to either check or hire a professional to check for adequate air flow and insulation.

9. Check Roof 

If you have comp shingles check to make sure none have come loose or are damaged. Metal roofing check for any punctures and all screws are tightened properly. Check all flashings around roof penetrations   

10. Check Caulking 

Check caulking between siding and the window and door frames. It is best to use Silicone caulk on exterior repairs.

We at Jonesy’s Home Inspection offer a yearly inspection and will check these areas for you among many more things to check for before the cold and snow is upon us. Stay tuned for more tips on getting your Home ready for Winter. 

The post Winter is Coming | Getting your Home Prepared appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/winter-coming-getting-home-prepared/feed/ 1 356
Yearly Inspection https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/yearly-inspection/ https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/yearly-inspection/#respond Mon, 26 Jun 2017 04:28:13 +0000 http://jonesyshomeinspection.com/?p=306 Most of us know that we should have a professional inspection before we buy a new home, but once we get the Report and take ownership, we often neglect to have our home inspected on a regular basis. A home inspection prior to purchasing a home will ensure that the buyer is aware of the […]

The post Yearly Inspection appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
Most of us know that we should have a professional inspection before we buy a new home, but once we get the Report and take ownership, we often neglect to have our home inspected on a regular basis.

A home inspection prior to purchasing a home will ensure that the buyer is aware of the condition of your home’s structure and systems and that those areas in need of repair are identified. This information is critical for the homebuyer, as hidden structural and system problems may affect their decision to purchase the home.

The home inspection report is an assessment of the home at the time of purchase, not a lifetime guarantee. As the home ages, problems may emerge, and systems may need to be repaired or replaced. In North Idaho we have severe weather, extreme cold, snow and rain which can cause damage to the home. Just recently was in a crawl space and found a water pipe leaking that at the time the home was purchased showed no visible signs of leaking. We will often go to doctors or dentists for check ups but when it comes to one of the most expensive investments of our life we tend to neglect having a routine inspection done.For most people their home is their most valuable asset. When you consider the current and future value of your home, the cost of an annual home inspection may seem a small price to pay to safeguard your largest investment.

The post Yearly Inspection appeared first on Jonesy's Home Inspection.

]]>
https://jonesyshomeinspection.com/yearly-inspection/feed/ 0 306